Athens tops North Penn-Liberty in NTL opener - 2016 NTL and District 4 News -

Athens tops North Penn-Liberty in NTL opener.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | December 16, 2016


BLOSSBURG — Athens defeated North Penn-Liberty 65-12 in their dual meet season opener Tuesday.

Alectra Cannavino (113), AJ Burkhart (120), Nate Bradley (182) and Tristan Nichols (220) all had forfeits for the Wildcats.

Also for Athens Chris Horton (126) pinned George Kyle in 2:36, Brock Horton (132) pinned Tanner York in 2:42, Gage Cannavino (152) pinned Cameron Andrews in 5:00, Kaidon Winters (160) pinned Judson Wise in 1:26 and David Galasso (170) pinned Coby Knipe in 2:31.

At 145 Athens' Brian Courtney scored a 22-5 technical fall in 4:50 over Riley Walkter while at 106 teammate David Nickson earned an 8-3 decision over Roger Learn.

Also at 138 Devin Sweat beat NPL's Carl Dinger 6-0.

For the Mountaineers Riku Smriga (195) scored a forfeit while at 285 Justin Kriner pinned Keegan Braund in 2:49.

Montgomery 48, Sullivan County 36

The match started at 182 where Sullivan's Sa'id Brown won by forfeit and the Griffins' Jared Houck got the forfeit at 195.

Eithan Marino of Montgomery got the forfeit at 220 and at 285 Sullivan's Jeremy Houck pinned Zechariah Beachel in 3:32.

Montgomery's Kai Felix won by forfeit at 106 and Giosia Wenner of Montgomery got the forfeit at 113, while Colton Bower of Montgomery got the forfeit at 120.

Montgomery's Lucas Drick pinned Caleb Fitzwater at 126 in 1:54 and at 132 Mikel Houseknecht of Sullivan won by forfeit.

James McCamley of Sullivan pinned Kade Showers in 25 seconds at 138 and at 145 Jensen Drick of Montgomery pinned Jacoby Fitzgerald in 2:55.

Trevor Kennedy of Montgomery pinned Ian McEwan of Sullivan in 1:53 at 152 and Sullivan's Dakota Pedro (160) and Montgomery's Hudson Werner (170) got forfeits.

Troy 39, Wellsboro 18

Zach Zimmerman started Troy off with a pin of Hunter Brown in 2:42 and Robert Brown of Wellsboro pinned Cameron Long of Troy in 2:22 at 220.

Kaleb Smith of Wellsboro won by forfeit at 285 and Sheldon Seymour of Troy got a forfeit at 106.

Their was a double forfeit at 113 and Jacob Turner of Towanda got a forfeit at 120.

Bailey Cohick of Troy got a forfeit at 126 and their were no matches at 132 or 138.

Wellsboro's Aidan Hauser pinned Edward Cole in 44 seconds at 145 and their was no match at 152.

Tyler Williams of Troy won 11-7 over Caleb Sinkler at 160. William Stewart of Troy won by forfeit at 170 and Eric Stone of Troy pinned Brennan Catherman in 3:24 at 182.

NEB 49, Canton 24

Dyllan Burgess of Canton got the forfeit at 113 and their was no match at 120.

Dusty Cook of NEB won by forfeit at 126 and at 132 Mak Gleckner pinned Destin Moore in 2:53.

Canton's Ethan Landis pinned Isaac Allis in 3:00 at 138 and Casey Ellis of NEB pinned Chance Deljanovan in 3:57 at 145.

Timmy Ward of Canton pinned Dale Brown of NEB in 1:26 at 152 and Aaron Boss of NEB won 10-3 over Garrett Storch at 160.

Tyler Devonshire of NEB pinned Noah Carpenter in 48 seconds at 170 and Alec Morris of NEB won by major decision 10-1 over Christian Ward at 182.

Dawson Brown of NEB pinned Trevor Williams in 5:50 at 195.

NEB's Seth Forbes (220) and Jordan Lynch (106) got forfeit wins at 285 Owen Maryott pinned Jaden Huslander in 24 seconds.