Troy's Seymour headlines All-Region Wrestling - 2018 NTL and District 4 News -

Troy's Seymour headlines All-Region Wrestling.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | March 25, 2018


It was another stellar year for local wrestling as seven kids brought home medals between Pennsylvania and New York.

The lines separating each of the wrestlers were blurry to say the least as any number of them could have been Wrestler of the Year.

Troy's Sheldon Seymour, though, was a 3-time post season champion, winning Sectional, District and Regional titles while taking fourth in the Class AA, PIAA Championships. And he finished with just three losses on the year.

That is how Seymour, a sophomore, became the 2017-2018 The Daily and Sunday Review All-Region Wrestler of the Year.

Last year's Co-Wrestler of the year, Wyalusing's Creighton Edsell, is the Middleweight (132-160) Wrestler of the Year.

The senior also finished the year with three losses, two post season titles (Sectionals and Districts) and took fourth at the PIAA, Class AA Championships.

Athens' A.J. Burkhart is the Lightweight (106-126) Wrestler of the Year. The Wildcat senior finished the year fifth at the PIAA, Class AA Championships while also winning a Sectional, District and Regional title along the way.

North Penn-Liberty's Justin Kriner is the Heavyweight (170-285) Wrestler of the Year. The senior was also fifth at the PIAA, Class AA Tournament and took home a sectional title this year.

Tioga's Brady Worthing is the Most Improve Wrestler. Worthing finished as runner-up in the New York, Division-II Championships and runner-up at Section IV as well. He won 14 more matches this year compared to last and nabbed his first state medal.

Sullivan County's Nathan Higley is the Newcomer of the Year. Higley became Sullivan County's first state medalist, taking sixth at the PIAA, Class AA Championships.

Kris Harrington and Tioga are the Coaching Staff of the Year for the second year. They took the Tigers to the state duals and won a Section IV, Division-II Tournament title.

On the first team for lightweights are Seymour, Burkhart, Brady Worthing and Tioga's John Worthing. John Worthing was a sectional champion and returning state medalist but had to bow out of the state tournament due to illness.

The middleweights are Higley, Edsell, Athens' Nate Bradley — a seventh place finisher at states this year — Tioga's Austin Lamb and Canton's Timmy Ward.

The heavyweights are Kriner, Towanda's Seth Johnson, Wyalusing's Ed Mapes, Athens' David Galasso and Wyalusing's Mikey Wilcox.

Earning wildcards are Wyalusing's Darren Schum, Athens' Chris Horton and Wyalusing's Luke O'Connor.

The second team lightweights are Wyalusing's Logan Newton, Athens' Bailey Poarch, Williamson's Matthew Carpenter and Towanda's Steven Chenot.

The middleweights are Towanda's Cooper Mosier, NP-Liberty's Riley Walker, Canton's Mak Gleckner, NP-Liberty's Cameron Andrews and Wyalusing's Joe Doss.

The heavyweights are Troy's Tyler Williams, Wyalusing's Randy Wildrick and Jackson Chilson, NEB's Tyler Devonshire and Tioga's Stephen Taylor.

The third team lightweights are NP-Liberty's Patriot June, Towanda's Tyler Hawley and Sullivan County's Caleb Fitzgerald.

The middlweights are Tioga's Max Johnson, Towanda's Preston Rogers, Sullivan's Colton Ammerman, Troy's Bailey Cohick and NP-Liberty's Judson Wise.

The heavyweights are Tioga's Trey Floyd, NEB's Dawson Brown and Owen Maryott, Canton's Garrett Storch and NEB's Noah Forbes.