Waverly swims past Towand - 2018 NTL and District 4 News - WellsboroAthletics.com

Waverly swims past Towanda

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | January 9, 2018


Waverly boys' swimming improves to 8-0 as they defeat Towanda by a score of 118-59.

Jared Stewart and Mike Atanasoff again lead the way as they each won four events on the evening for Waverly.

In the 200, medley relay Waverly's team of Stewart, Trent Wright, Kaden Wheeler and Atanasoff won in 1:55.26.

Wolverine Josh Lee (2:09.98) won the 200 free followed by teammate Collin Keefer (2:16.65) while Towanda's Kaigan Stroop (2:25.14) was third.

Stewart (2:27.25) and teammate Tyler Brooks (2:34.01) went 1-2 for Waverly in the 200 IM with Towanda's Aaron Trybula (2:34.02) third.

Atanasoff (24.18) won the 50 free followed by Towanda's Demetrius Hill (27.16) and Avery Klees (27.90) in second and third.

Waverly's Gage Streeter (179.05) won the diving with Hill (135.20) second.

Towanda's Zach Sims (1:01.57) won the 100 fly with Waverly's Kaden Wheeler (1:02.4) second and Max VanDyke (1:26.10) third. Wheeler's time established a new eighth-grade record for the Wolverines.

Towanda's Connor Wilcox won the 100 free in 55.90 followed by Lee (56.01) and Wright (1:00.63).

Keefer (5:53.44) won the 500 free followed by Trybula (5:57.10) and Stroop (6:44.21).

Waverly's 200 free relay of Stewart, Lee, Wright and Atanasoff won in 1:46.14.

Stewart won the 100 backstroke in 1:03.82 with Sims (1:04.22) and Wheeler (1:07.67) second and third.

Atanasoff (1:12.69) won the 100 breaststroke followed by Wilcox (1:15.22) and Wright (1:20.75).

Keefer, Lee, Wheeler and Brooks (4:05.32) won the 400 free relay.

Waverly will host Lansing on Thursday.